Recipe Mugs: A Cup of Coffee Cake & French Toast in a Mug

19 Mar

A little while ago I stumbled on a recipe at Prudent Baby for French Toast in a mug. French Toast! in a mug! It seemed too good to be true–a single perfect serving of French Toast with minimal mess? And then even better, a recipe for coffee cake in a mug! A single serving of coffee cake! in a mug!

My use of exclamation points is probably cluing you in to my state of excitement over these discoveries, but just in case I’m confusing you, let me say: I was really excited. Sometimes you just want a little bit of something, you know? Sometimes all you need is a single serving, especially if you live alone (what is a single person going to do with a whole cake? Nothing that’s decent enough to print, that’s for sure).

Naturally, I had to test the recipes. In fact I tested them twice, just to be sure that they were really good.

And guys, they are.

This is when I had my brilliant idea–what better way to keep these excellent recipes handy than to put them on mugs? I happened to have a stash of plain white mugs, and I happened to have a black Porcelaine 150 marker. It was the simplest project ever–I just wrote the recipes out on the mugs (getting a little creative to make everything fit), let them dry for a few days, then baked them to set the paint and make them dishwasher safe.

Here are my mugs, with links to the original recipes:

2-minute French Toast in a Cup at Prudent Baby

     Notes: I didn’t alter the recipe at all, except that I failed to butter the inside of my mug, which didn’t seem to hurt anything. Also in the future I don’t think I’ll make the egg mixture separately and pour it over the bread–I think I’ll just mix it in the mug, then add the bread and stir it up to coat it thoroughly.

A Cup of Coffee Cake in under 5 minutes at Prudent Baby

     Notes: I altered the recipe very slightly, adding a teaspoon of cinnamon to the cake batter part of the recipe for more oomph. Also, she mentions that it will be hot, and by this she means that it will be really hot. As in, plan to let your cup of coffee cake sit for fifteen minutes to cool before attempting to eat it. Trust me. This is the voice of experience.

5 Responses to “Recipe Mugs: A Cup of Coffee Cake & French Toast in a Mug”

  1. Danielle March 19, 2012 at 12:23 am #

    This is so fabulous! I love it. You inspire me to MAKE ALL THE THINGS.

  2. Jeannie March 27, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    How clever! I saw your comment on prudent baby and came over to see the mugs. I’d like to pin it to my Pinterest board, ok?

    http://forwhatitsworth-jeannie.blogspot.com/

    • agreyeyedgirl March 31, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      Sure! Thanks, I’m glad that you like them :D

  3. Denise April 28, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    I think your mugs are what I have been looking for. I like a very thin lip part, and I broke mine which made me sad. denisecott@yahoo.com

  4. Anonymous June 19, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    What a great idea! How did you “bake the mugs” once the recipes were written on them?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

