From the Archives: Princess and the Pea Peg Dolls

21 Feb

Here’s another craft from my past that I wanted to share with you–I made these dolls in 2010 for a Princess and the Pea themed swap package. The Princess and the Pea is a strange fairy tale, but I’ve always found it compelling and I think it’s because I love the idea of all those mattresses. How fun would it be to sleep on a pile of hundreds of mattresses? Okay, probably not that fun, considering the fact that bunk beds make me nervous (you roll off of a bunk bed once, you never forget it). It’s still a fun image, though, and these dolls were a lot of fun to make.

I made five dolls–the king, queen, prince, and two versions of the titular princess, one in her nightdress (exhausted from a night of tossing and turning) and one in a blue gown with flowers, ready to marry the prince.

See how adorable and little they are?

I loved the way that this set of dolls turned out, but I have to admit that my very favorite thing is the expression on the tired princess’ face. She looks so exhausted and incredulous–I just imagine her looking at the queen and saying “You put what under my mattress???”

 

Leave a Reply

